No Phone? WHY?

I draw inspiration from many sources that I read, watch, or experience. One of my biggest influences of late are The Minimalists. These two men, Joshua Fields Milburn and Ryan Nicodemus, are spokesmen for a more meaningful life void of the extra material possessions that occupy our time and affect our cognitive function. They preach that was should strip away the excess that keeps us tied down, to purge our lives of all things that do not add value to how we live. I am in the process of getting rid of the mess in my house/life. You can read more about it in detail on my wife’s blog, Cut The Crap. (Link is on my homepage sidebar for “Blogs I Follow”).

This morning I was reading one of their essays talking about giving up their phone for a month. It talked about how a large percentage of Americans would rather give up sex, vacation days, and days off for one whole year than give up their phone for the same length of time. How addicted are we that we would give up some of the most pleasurable things for a screen to stare at for hours everyday? Anyways, I was inspired by the challenge, so that is exactly what I am going to do.

No phone or social media for a month.

I expect withdrawals for the phone. I constantly find myself checking it and playing around on it throughout the day. I don’t think I will miss social media that much. All I have is Facebook and no one I truly wish to talk with uses it very often. I am excited to have more time to focus on things that add value such as blogging, practicing my violin, writing songs, and reading books.

I hope it will help me pay better attention to the people I love, to cherish my time with them while I can. I know it will make me a better person, after all, I spent the first 23 years of my life without a smartphone. I know I can do it. At the end of the month, if my the quality of my life has improved, then I plan on downgrading to a cheap phone that will simply just call. I have thought about the actual productive things I have on my phone, and the only thing I would miss would be the GPS. We have a Tom Tom GPS for travel that would be significantly cheaper than a large data plan.

I will update you on my progress occasionally, giving you my thoughts and observations about the process.

Could you do it? Could you give up your phone for one month? I challenge you to begin this challenge with me. Who knows where we’ll end up?

3 thoughts on “No Phone? WHY?

  1. Reblogged this on Cut the Crap and commented:
    This blog goes well with our theme of eliminating the excess so we can focus on what matters. Here in the 21st century, most people have made a transition from using technology as a tool to becoming a slave to it. When you put your phone away and decide you aren’t going to mess with it for however long, there are (embarrassingly) moments where you almost feel at a loss for what to do. After that phase, however, is an overwhelming freedom. Suddenly, you have so much time! Suddenly, you get so much more done. Suddenly, you don’t feel tethered to a small device that determines what you do every second. Suddenly, you become your own master again.
    This post certainly inspired me to try life without being tethered to a smart phone. What about you? Could you do it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: No Phone?….No Problem! | The Open Tab

  3. Pingback: How Minimalism Affects Your Marriage – Cut the Crap

Leave a Reply

